Licensing Infomation

The Queensland Government has introduced a graduated licensing system to help reduce fatalities on the roads – particularly among young drivers. The aim of the system is to encourage safer, more proficient drivers and riders.

Queensland’s graduated licensing system recognises the need for drivers and riders to hold a particular class of licence for a set period of time before being able to upgrade to the next class of licence.

This arrangement gives learner drivers and riders the opportunity to improve their skills and develop acceptable and safe driving behaviour with a lower class of vehicle before driving or riding more demanding vehicles.

Geting a Car Licence

Queensland has a driver licensing system that encourages safe driving. Safe driving will reduce road crashes.

The four licence stages are:

  1. Learner licence
  2. P1 licence
  3. P2 licence
  4. Open licence

The first stage in the Graduated Licensing System is to get a learner licence. Once you have held a learner licence for at least 12 months, accumulated 100 hours of on road driving experience and passed a Q-Safe test you can progress to a provisional licence.

This system allows novice drivers to gain more experience and improve their overall driving skills before they are allowed to upgrade to a higher type or class of licence.

Writen Driving Licence Test

Transport and Main Roads practice road rules test is the easiest way to practise for your test. This is because the questions are similar to those used in a Customer Service Centre (CSC), Queensland Government Agency Program (QGAP) office or police station. Before taking the practice road rules test, make sure you have read “Your Keys to Driving in Queensland”.

Practice General Test:A random selection of 10 give way and 20 road rules questions you could be asked when taking the written road rules test.